July 31, 2014

New Hampshire Bans Handheld Cellphone Use While Driving

Cell Phone Laws | RoadGuides.com

New Hampshire Governor Maggie Hassan has signed a bill banning handheld cellphone use while driving in New Hampshire as of July 1, 2015.

The bill continues to allow adults to talk on cellphones while driving if they use hands-free phones, devices built into the vehicle or two-way radios. It also bans all cellphone use while driving by minors.

The ban will apply while drivers are stopped temporarily, such as at a red light, but not if they have pulled over and stopped. The bill doesn’t apply in an emergency.

Offenders will face a $100 fine for a first offense, a $250 fine for a second offense and a $500 fine for subsequent offenses within 24 months.

Governor Hassan issued the following statement after signing HB 1370, a measure relative to use of certain electronic devices while driving:

“Distracted driving was one of the leading causes of traffic fatalities in New Hampshire and across the nation in 2013, and it is an increasing danger that we must address in order to keep our roads safe. By reducing distracted driving, this bipartisan legislation will help save lives. I thank Representative Pantelakos and legislators from both parties for working to improve the safety of our roads and our people.”

For more I-95 information, visit www.i95exitguide.com, the Internet’s largest and most complete website devoted to America’s Interstate Main Street. Detailed exit service listings… discount lodging, camping, food, gas and more for every exit from Maine to Florida!

Join our social circle and stay connected. To stay in the loop on all things I-95, click the icons below to find us on Facebook and Twitter!


Traveling another route? Visit our growing family of exit guides: I-4 Exit Guide,I-5 Exit GuideI-10 Exit Guide and I-75 Exit Guide.

The post New Hampshire Bans Handheld Cellphone Use While Driving appeared first on 511enews.com.